The geography of the pass - Hospice du Petit Saint-Bernard
2274
page-template-default,page,page-id-2274,bridge-core-2.2.8,ajax_fade,page_not_loaded,,qode_grid_1300,qode-content-sidebar-responsive,qode-theme-ver-21.5,qode-theme-bridge,disabled_footer_top,qode_header_in_grid,wpb-js-composer js-comp-ver-6.9.0,vc_responsive
 

The geography of the pass

Geology

Info and maps: Gille de Broucker, geologist.

 

The Col du Petit St Bernard is at the crossroads of different geological horizons characteristic of Alpine geology :

 

  • on the south side (Mont Belvedère massif), the rocks are sandstone and conglomerates with flakes of Mica, resulting from the erosion of a very old chain of mountain (320 Million years)
  • on the north-west side, the roc de Belleface and the pointe de Lancebranlette are respectively black limestone and calcschist formed in the collapse ditches of the la alpine sea which covered the territory 170 million years ago.
  • on the northeast side, the Pointe Rousse is a scale of granite from a micro-continent (called Briançonnais) 267 million years old. It is surrounded by various rocks (basalts, gneiss, serpentinite, gabbros, etc.), witness to the opening and then the closing of a small ocean (the Valais ocean) 80 million years ago.

 

This diversity of rocks, both acidic and basic, induces a beautiful plant diversity in this sector of alpine meadows.

Natural spaces

At 2200 m altitude, the Petit Saint Bernard plateau is a remarkable wetland. Various ecological factors contribute to this: glacial modeling, nature of the terrain, origin of the rocks, presence of water ( streams, lakes, bogs and marshes), climatic conditions.

As a result, a large part of the plateau is classifiedNatura 2000” and protected. There are remarkable species such as the Arctic rush and the Bicolor sedge.

3 remarkable lakes are located within walking distance of the pass: Lac Longet, Lac sans fond and Lac Verney< /strong>. (see discovery trail)

Climatic particularity of the pass

The Haute Tarentaise is under the influence of an intra-alpine climate which is characterized by a relative basic drought of valley. This feature is accentuated by the presence of the Petit St Bernard pass. In fact, when a low pressure system is present on the Mediterranean, it generates a foehn effect: humid air masses arrive on the Italian side and collide with the mountains. The air cools and humidifies, it becomes saturated, precipitation accumulates at altitude. Crossing the pass, the air rushes down and heats up. At the bottom of the valley, “downwind” blows a turbulent, dry and hot wind, the foehn, also called “the oura” or “the St Bernard” by the inhabitants of the Tarentaise.

Pastoral life on both sides of the border

The first ceutron and salasse tribes were already shepherds and pastoralism is a very old tradition on both sides. other from the collar. The habit of herding the herds on the Alpe in summer is the highlight of pastoral life. The word “alpe” (or alp, arp, aup..) comes from the Celtic language.

Over time, on both sides of the valleys, the appropriation of the alpages evolved to lead to the 3 main types that still exist today: mountain possessed in common, communal mountain or private mountain.

Life in the mountain pastures is punctuated by movements, movement of men and herds according to fodder resources, which is done in stages from spring to late autumn. From St Jean to St Michel, men and herds find themselves in the “big mountain” in the high mountain pastures.

A cheese tradition, based on mountain pasture milk, has existed for a very long time in Valdigne and Haute-Tarentaise. Even today, the inhabitants of these valleys value milk by making their own specialties: fontine and Beaufort cheese.

On the livestock side, there are tarines and abundance on the French side, for the production of Beaufort, and red and black Pie on the Italian side for fontina.

The feast of the shepherds and its fights of queens

Every year, at the end of August, the festival of the shepherds took place on the pass. On this occasion, queen fights take place.

Cows have a spontaneously combative behavior between them, which is expressed within the herds. This releases their aggressiveness and will to power. Little by little, fights are set up by the breeders for their pleasures. In 1947, after the vicissitudes of the war, the Aosta Valley sought to promote the old traditions of the region, which they had inhibited during the fascist period and a group of breeders organized the first games in Aosta. The fights became popular with the organization of playoffs in each valley. In each category, the winner receives a beautiful leather necklace with the large bell finely worked by hand.

The principle of these fights is quite simple: the cow that stops fighting loses…!

These fights have a real economic impact, both for the owners of the cows, as well as for the selection of breeds and the promotion of agriculture geared towards tourism and trade.

Winter sports

Although closed in winter, the pass is at the heart of a vast Franco-Italian ski area, the space San Bernardo: 160 km of slopes with an exceptional panorama over the Mont-Blanc massif and 2 ski resorts: La Rosière and La Thuile d’Aoste .

The wind and the open, flat terrain also allow kite-skiing and kite-surfing, which are increasingly popular. Discover kite-skiing and kite-surfing!

La géographie du Col - Hospice du Petit Saint-Bernard
680
page-template-default,page,page-id-680,bridge-core-2.2.8,ajax_fade,page_not_loaded,,qode_grid_1300,qode-content-sidebar-responsive,qode-theme-ver-21.5,qode-theme-bridge,disabled_footer_top,qode_header_in_grid,wpb-js-composer js-comp-ver-6.3.0,vc_responsive
 

La géographie du Col

Géologie

Infos et cartes : Gille de Broucker, géologue.

 

Le col du petit St Bernard se trouve à la croisée de différents horizons géologiques caractéristiques de la géologie alpine :

 

  • côté sud (massif du mont Belvedère), les roches sont des grès et conglomérats à paillettes de Mica, issus de l’érosion d’une très ancienne chaîne de montagne (320 Millions d’années)
  • côté Nord-ouest, le roc de Belleface et la pointe de Lancebranlette sont respectivement des calcaires noirs et calcschistes formés dans des fossés d’effondrement de la mer alpine qui recouvrait le territoire il ya 170 millions d’années.
  • côté Nord-Est, la pointe rousse est une écaille de granit issue d’un micro-continent (appelé Briançonnais) vieille de 267 Millions d’années. Elle est entourée de roches variées (basaltes, gneiss, serpentinite, gabbros…) témoin de l‘ouverture puis de la fermeture d’un petit océan (l’océan valaisan) il ya 80 millions d’années.

 

Cette diversité de roches, tant acides que basiques, induit une belle diversité végétale dans ce secteur de prairies alpines.

Panorama Antoine avec explications

Espaces naturels

À 2200 m d’altitude, le plateau du petit Saint Bernard constitue une zone humide remarquable. Différents facteurs écologiques y contribuent : modelage glaciaire, nature du terrain, origine des roches, présence d’eau (ruisseaux, lacs, tourbières et marais), conditions climatiques.

De ce fait, une grande partie du plateau est classé « Natura 2000 » et protégé. On y trouve des espèces remarquables tel le jonc arctique et la laiche bicolore.

3 lacs remarquables sont situés à quelques minutes de marche du col : le lac Longet, le lac sans fond et le lac Verney.  (voir parcours découverte)

prairies humides, hospice et frontière

Particularité climatique du col

La Haute Tarentaise est sous l’influence d’un climat intra-alpin qui se caractérise par une relative sécheresse de fond de vallée. Cette caractéristique est accentuée par la présence du col du petit St Bernard. En effet, lorsqu’un système de basse pression est présent sur la méditerranée, il génère un effet de foehn : les masses d’air humides arrivent côté italien et se heurtent aux montagnes. L’air se refroidit et s’humidifie, il devient saturé, les précipitations s’accumulent en altitude. En franchissant le col, l’air se précipite vers le bas et se réchauffe. En fond de vallée, « sous le vent » souffle un vent turbulent, sec et chaud, le foehn, appelé aussi « l’oura » ou « le St Bernard » par les habitants de la Tarentaise.

Vie pastorale de part et d’autre de la frontière

Les premières peuplades ceutrones et salasses étaient déjà bergers et le pastoralisme est une très ancienne tradition de part et d’autre du col. L’habitude qui consiste à mener les troupeaux sur l’Alpe en été constitue les temps forts de la vie pastorale. Le mot « alpe » ( ou alp, arp, aup .. ) est issu du langage celtique.

Au fil des temps, de part et d’autre des vallées, l’appropriation des alpages a évolué pour aboutir aux 3 types principaux existants encore aujourd’hui : montagne possédée en commun, montagne communale ou montagne privées.

La vie en alpage est rythmée par les remues, déplacement des hommes et des troupeaux en fonction de la ressource fourragères, qui se fait par étapes du printemps à la fin de l’automne. De la St Jean à la St Michel, hommes et troupeaux se retrouvent dans la « grande montagne » dans les alpages d’altitude.

Une tradition fromagère, à partir du lait d’alpage, existe depuis fort longtemps en Valdigne et en Haute-Tarentaise. Aujourd’hui encore, les habitants de ces vallées valorisent le lait en fabriquant chacun leurs spécialités : la fontine et le beaufort.

Côté cheptel, on trouve les tarines et abondance côté français, pour la fabrication du beaufort, et les rouges et noires de Pie côté italien pour la fontine.

Vaches marines dans les prairies du Col du Petit Saint-Bernard.

La fête des bergers et ses combats de reines

Chaque année, se déroulait fin août sur le col, la fête des bergers. A cette occasion, ont lieu des combats de reines.

Les vaches ont entre elles un comportement spontanément combatif, qui s’exprime au sein des troupeaux. Cela permet de libérer leur agressivité et leur volonté de pouvoir. Petit  à petit, des combats sont mis en place par les éleveurs pour leurs plaisirs. En 1947, après les vicissitudes de la guerre, les valdotains cherchent à valoriser les vielles traditions de la région, qu’ils avaient inhibées pendant la période fasciste et un groupe d’éleveurs organise des premières joutes à Aoste. Les combats se popularisent avec organisation d’éliminatoires dans chaque vallée. Dans chaque catégorie, la gagnante reçoit un beau collier en cuir avec la grosse cloche finement travaillée à la main.

Combat de reines durant la fête des bergers.

Le principe de ces combats est assez simple : la vache qui arrête de combattre a perdu … !

Ces combats ont un réel impact économique, tant pour les propriétaires des vaches, que pour la sélection des races et la valorisation de l’agriculture tournée vers le tourisme et le commerce.

Sports d’hiver

Bien que fermé en hiver, le col est au cœur d’un vaste domaine skiable franco-italien, l’espace San Bernardo : 160 km de pistes avec un panorama exceptionnel sur le massif du Mont-blanc et 2 stations de ski : la Rosière et la Thuile d’Aoste.

Le vent et le terrain ouvert et plat permettent également la pratique du kite-ski et et kite-surf, de plus en plus populaires. Découvrez le kite-ski et le kite-surf !

Station du col du Petit Saint-Bernard.
kite surf en hiver Station San Bernardo Col du Petit Saint Bernard
Col du Petit St Bernard sous la neige